A moment in a thought

My thoughts, in my life, of adoption and other such things

Kiss Me, I’m Irish! March 16, 2007

Filed under: Adoptee,Adoption,Adoption reunion — Jessie @ 1:05 pm

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!! 

Ok, so yeah, it isn’t St. Patrick’s day yet…. sorry.  I work in a daycare, and the day before the holiday may as well be the holiday when it falls on a weekend.  The kids don’t know the difference, we have a party, its all fun and dandy. 

I have had several children ask me today, what is St. Patrick’s day.  I know this is going to sound so incredibly non-PC but I don’t really know.  I always just figured it was that holiday where all the Irish people got drunk, I don’t know.  Maybe someone can enlighten me as to what St. Patrick’s day is really all about. 

Anywho, this St. Patrick’s day is proving to be a memorable one in my mind.  It is no different than any other St. Patricks day really.  Minus one major thing, I actually got to wear a shirt this year that said Kiss me, Im Irish. 

Not a big deal you say?  Well it is to me!  I have never in my 24 years of life been able to wear a Kiss me Im Irish: shirt, button or flip flops, (all of which I have on today, yes even the flip flops, despite the 14 inches of snow we are supposed to get) or anything else Kiss me Im Irish for that matter.  Because before this year, I didn’t even know I was Irish. 

Ok, so I’m really not all THAT Irish, but don’t they say a little Irish is Irish enough???  Well I’m a little Irish, and damn proud of it too! 

I was reading Rebecca’sblog and there was a post in there that particularly stood out to me.  Especially right now, it was about a project she had to do for chemistry class.  You know, those genealogy projects where you have to go home and look at your parents to see what color eyes they have, and the hair, and their earlobes to see which traits you got and which were recessive and which were dominate.  I remember doing this project, actually I remember specifically NOT doing this project, for biology class.  I was miserable about it, I could look at my family all I wanted, no one had my earlobes, no one had my eyes, no one had my hair, or my freckles, or anything else for that matter.  However, this wasn’t the biggest school thing that bothered me. 

The biggest was the question, the one we have all been asked a hundred times before, what nationality are you? 

Ok, maybe this isn’t a big deal for those readers who live in other countries, as your nationalities may all be pretty much the same for your country.  But I live in America, no one, well few people are one nationality here.  And that question gets asked A LOT!

I never knew, I was told I was half Italian and half French Canadian.  I had a feeling that was either A. Just what my mother was, or B.  An estimation at what I was.  I knew it was pretty much a logical improbability that both of my parents were full blooded anything, so I knew that I didn’t know WHAT I was.  I always thought I had some Irish in me somewhere, as I have always kinda been in love with Ireland and all things Irish.  However, I didn’t know for sure, I didn’t know anything for sure.  And I hated hearing the dreaded question, because I would just look at people and say “I don’t know, I’m adopted” or I would just ignore the question entirely.  I didn’t like to be reminded that it was just one more thing that I didn’t know about who I was. 

Needless to say, it was one of the first questions I asked my Meemo, right after she asked if I had a good life.  What nationality am I?  Turns out, I was right, I really am just a big mutt.  I am mostly Italian, they got that part right, half Italian, a quarter from both of my biological parents.  The rest is mostly German, some Native American (totally cool!!) other things and Irish, so yeah, the long standing question.  I have Irish in me, apparently from my great great grandparents. 

So this St. Patrick’s day is quite a big deal to me.  This St. Patrick’s day, I actually get to wear a shirt that say’s Kiss me, Im Irish. 

 

7 Responses to “Kiss Me, I’m Irish!”

  1. Amy Says:

    Gotta love Wiki
    Much Irish folklore surrounds St. Patrick’s Day. Not much of it is actually substantiated.

    Some of this lore includes the belief that Patrick raised people from the dead. He also is said to have given a sermon from a hilltop that drove all the snakes from Ireland. Of course, no snakes were ever native to Ireland, and some people think this is a metaphor for the conversion of the pagans. Though originally a Catholic holy day, St. Patrick’s Day has evolved into more of a secular holiday.

    One traditional icon of the day is the shamrock. This stems from a more bona fide Irish tale that tells how Patrick used the three-leafed shamrock to explain the Trinity. He used it in his sermons to represent how the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit could all exist as separate elements of the same entity. His followers adopted the custom of wearing a shamrock on his feast day.

    The St. Patrick’s Day custom came to America in 1737, the first year St. Patrick’s Day was publicly celebrated, in Boston, Mass.

    Today, people celebrate the day with parades, wearing green, and drinking beer. One reason St. Patrick’s Day might have become so popular is that it takes place just a few days before the first day of spring. One might say it has become the first green of spring.

  2. Possum Says:

    Happy St. Pats day you gorgeous Irish girl you!!!!

    Yeah – Rebecca’s post made me nod like crazy also.

    Australia is the same as the US. We’ve only been populated by white people since 1788. So just about EVERYONE comes from somewhere else – and it is a very important part of who you are here. And my feelings about this lost heritage of mine became even more apparent when I married a Dutch man – who’s father was born in the Dutch-East-Indies (now Indonesia) to parents who were Czech and Austrian – and who’s mother is very very Dutch.

    Me – I knew nothing. Still don’t have all the pieces – but I’ve managed to hunt down some of the facts…….
    When I found my mother’s family tree on the internet – it states that my first ancestor that came to Australia was also from Ireland.

    Sadly – as my mother hasn’t welcomed me with open arms – and she won’t allow my siblings to have contact with me (she had 3 more kids after my sister J and I – which she kept) I somehow feel that I’m still not ‘allowed’ to own that heritage – still to this day.

    But I will today claim that Irish heritage – and will have a beer this evening – and I’ll raise a toast to me, you and Meemo – and rejoice in the fact that we do now know some of who we are – AT LAST!!!!

    Great post. Sending you green, Irish hugs!! Poss. xx

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    It was a big deal to me when I found out that I’m about 50% Irish. (Also German, French, and English).

    Happy St Pat’s Day!

  4. Reunited Dan Says:

    I was a little disappointed to find out I am French Canadian and English without even a speck of Irish in me at all.

    Oh well!

  5. petunia Says:

    I love St. Patrick’s day—I am Irish on all sides – so that was good to know…I was celebrating for 31 years before I found out I was really Irish after all….but everyone is Irish on St. Patricks day (my Indian friend always wear his – “I am too Irish” shirt).

    St. Patrick ‘s story is really incredible – he was Scottish (really Roman living in Scotland) and kidnapped at 16 by Irish marauders and sold as a slave to an Irish Cheiftan (who was a druid high priest and very cruel) where she was forced to take care of sheep for six years. Out on the mountains he prayed and started praying for his captors, then finally escaped…he traveled all together about 200 miles before boarding a ship to go back home. He knew he wanted to live a religious life and after a few years under some other saint – he became a priest.
    In his years he was a slave he learned the Celtic language very well , and he knew all about the Druids and what they did because of the guy that held him. He was bound and determined to liberate the Irish race and bring them Christianity. He went back to where he had been a slave becasue he cared about those people—whoa! (that is inspiring to me)
    Even when he went back, they all tried to kill him but he stuck to it and you know the rest….
    The English celebrate Guy Fox day – now that’s a strange holiday!

  6. Rebecca Says:

    XXXXXXXXX sorry my kisses are late. I’m not Irish but for some strange reason always wanted to be. I have a neat tattoo that is a shamrock. 🙂 Which Native American tribe are you descended from? My paternal grandfather was Cherokee Indian. Thanks for linking to me, it’s nice to know that you can relate to me. Love your blog, Jessie. Hugs, Rebecca

  7. Came accross this randomly. First off, just wanted to say congrats on finding out you have Irish ancestory. However, there is a lot more to being Irish than having a great-whatever grandparent who was Irish and liking beer. But, with some research, I suppose you could find out what exactly that entails, its a language, its a culture, its literature, its music, its history. So, so much. Not trying to bust yer balls about it either. But oh well.

    slainte(Cheers in Gaeilge{Irish.})


Leave a Reply

