A moment in a thought

My thoughts, in my life, of adoption and other such things

In other news March 22, 2007

Filed under: People,Uncategorized — Jessie @ 12:44 pm

As many of you know, I work in a child care.  My room, my favorite one to work in and the room I consider mine, is the infant room. 

There are two women who work in there in the mornings,  Debbie and Sue.  I love them to death, they are my mom’s at work, as I am always joking with them that now, instead of having one mother, I have four.  They are there for me whenever I need someone to talk to, Sue and I call each other names all day.  Its cute, I like them a lot, although they are both much older than me, I consider them my friends.  I don’t know what I would do without them some days. 

In the afternoons, I work in there, with a girl named Briiana.  She is a girl, 19 years old, mature for her age but young none the less.  We also work very well together.  We have similar attitudes toward the children and have an ability to make each other laugh.  I never see her outside of work, but I still also consider her a friend.  It takes a lot for me to like people, but I like her.  I genuinely enjoy working with Briiana, and it kinda throws my whole day off if she isn’t at work.  Lately, she hasn’t been at work.  She has been gone this whole week, and last week she was out for a day as well.  I missed her, as when she isn’t there, I invariably get stuck with someone who doesn’t have a freaking clue what to do when it comes to infants.  Very difficult.  I knew she was sick, and I finally decided to ask my director what was really going on with her.  I got some distressing news.

She has Cervical cancer…. cancer, my 19 year old sweet hearted, good natured co worker, has cancer.  Wow.  She went in for her yearly girl doc appointment and her PAP came back positive.  Just imagine, going in for a routine doctors appointment and coming out with the news that you have cancer.  She is young, I imagine that they have caught it early, but still, how scary.

I guess I never really thought about it before now.  Cancer.  I have never known anyone under the age of 60 who has had it.  I know it happens a lot, you hear stories, and see children’s wards in the hospital and its sad.  But it happened, right next to me, to a girl I know.  She should be thinking about things like school, and finding a boyfriend, and going out on Friday nights.  Not cancer, not the things that you have to do to treat cancer.  Not spending time wondering whether or not she will be able to have children.  Not having to be faced with her own mortality at nineteen years of age.  It just makes me sad.  It also makes me think, think about how long its been since I have been in for my yearly… probably about three years.   Just makes you think, it can happen to anyone. 

 

3 Responses to “In other news”

  1. m Says:

    Yep…it happens. Happened to me. It had been about 1 1/2 years since my last pap when I went in for a check up and got the same news as your friend. The good news for your friend is that the disease she has is highly curable.

    I’m always so sorry to hear about this happening to a young person. I was 31….I can’t imagine how she feels at 19.

  2. Possum Says:

    That is very sad Jessie – my thoughts are with her – and I hope she makes a fast recovery.
    You are so right – you just never know what is around the corner.
    Poss. xx

  3. Amy Says:

    Very curable and caught hopefully, based on her age, very early.


Leave a Reply

