A moment in a thought

My thoughts, in my life, of adoption and other such things

Conversation can work wonders. May 13, 2007

Filed under: Family — Jessie @ 10:52 am

I woke up this morning and I felt like evil Satan spawn.  I couldn’t believe that I had actually ditched my mother the day before mothers day.  Yes, we have a lot of issues, yes things have gotten out of control.

But regardless of all that she is my mother, and I do love her. 

I decided that instead of taking a break, maybe we could work this out.  Maybe we both need to work on things and try to change. 

So in the effort of my dramatic flair, I showed up at church (quite amazing, I havn’t set foot in one in years) and got down on one knee with lilacs and tulips stolen from a field and apologized to my mother in front of everyone there.  She was so happy she cried, my grandmother I think was a bit embarrassed but oh well.  She cried and looked at me and said ‘are you kidding? Talk about instant gratification, I was just praying for you.”

So to make a long story short, we talked.  We talked, we respected each other, she respected me.  We both apologized for our wrongdoings.  We also both got to the heart of what makes us so nasty to each other to begin with.  She realized that she had made a lot of mistakes when it comes to me.  She apologized for a lot of them. 

We decided to put everything behind us and start over.  Honestly, I can do that.  I can do it, and hopefully she can too. 

So here’s starting my new relationship with my mom.  I couldn’t be happier. 

So Happy Mothers Day to all🙂

 

2 Responses to “Conversation can work wonders.”

  1. Possum Says:

    WOW Jessie.
    You’re one grown up girl – ya know??
    Thinking of you.
    Hugs,
    Poss. xxx

  2. Lambie Says:

    Apologies are wonderful – as long as they are not at the expense of your soul.


Leave a Reply

